My Python learning experience

Adeola Adekoya
2 min readJan 29, 2022

Maths is something I’ve always struggled with, and it’s one of the reasons I put off learning how to program because I’m frightened of numbers. I chose to learn to code in 2021 and enrolled in a full-stack development school, where I learned Frontend development and design. You can learn more about my journey into technology in my previous post.

This year, I’m learning Python for backend development, and I remember getting my first problem and simply staring at the computer since I couldn’t figure out how to answer it. However, as the classes progressed, my instructor taught us different methods, data types, and gave us a couple more quizzes, which made me feel less apprehensive and more confident because I was able to handle them on my own.

Since my classes started, I’ve completed a couple of projects that have shown me that I don’t need maths to be a good programmer. Knowing maths is useful, but software’s primary function is to outline operational logic. All I required was the capacity to think logically, and learning Python has really helped in my logical thinking muscle growth. The more tasks I work on, the more proficient I get. For example, my instructor requested me to write an algorithm on how a bank’s sign-up, login, withdrawal, and deposit processes work. Initially, I thought it would take me a long time to figure it out, but after I was able to break down the problem I wanted to answer, it became much easier. Learning Python has also helped me see a fresh approach to problem-solving and knowing where to go for information in my daily life.

Thank you for reading about my experience learning python. Look forward to sharing more on my progress. You can say hello to me on Instagram, Twitter and LinkedIn. If you’re interested in seeing what I’ve been up to, see my Behance and GitHub pages.

--

--

Adeola Adekoya

Hello, my name is Adeola Adekoya, and I’m a Web Developer and Product Designer interested in creating products that make people’s lives easier.